Upcoming Events

Celebrating the Achievements of Our Students, Teachers and Staff.

Foundation Events

We Need Your Support

donate to the loudoun education foundation

Through your generosity, public schools in your community will have additional support in furthering the classroom experience, graduating students will get the assistance they need to continue their education, and our outstanding teachers will have the opportunity to obtain post graduate degrees and training. Learn more about how to support the Loudoun Education Foundation

About the Foundation


May 31, 2013

Teacher of the Year Award

6PM National Conference Center

The Loudoun Education Foundation (LEF) will honor Loudoun’s best teachers during a banquet on May 31st, at The National Conference Center in Lansdowne. The event is chaired by Kristina Bouweiri, the President and CEO of Reston Limousine.

Mrs. Bouweiri spoke last year about the importance of teachers in inspiring tomorrow’s citizens."Education builds a foundation upon which we develop the skills that we need in everyday life. Math becomes business. Civics becomes politics. All of the subjects in between develop into different career paths and life’s passions… However, education does not materialize out of thin air. It doesn’t just jump out of textbooks and into the minds of our students… A quality education is the result of a quality teacher; someone who brings the words on the pages of a book to life. Someone who genuinely loves what they’re doing and is so enthusiastic, it’s infectious; someone who inspires students to be the movers and shakers of their generation.”
— Kristina Bouweiri, President and CEO, Reston Limousine

Each of the honored teachers last year, including the Teacher of the Year receipiant, received a grant by the LEF to enhance their class offerings. The Foundation is currently looking for local businesses and citizens to support this event in order to continue this grant offering this year.

The teachers are selected for this honor because they are nominees for The Washington Post’s Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award for Loudoun County. (This award also honors Loudoun’s Teacher of the Year.)

The 2013 honored teachers are:

  • Allison Alison, Stone Bridge HS
  • Mary Armstrong, Hillside ES
  • Steven Barham, Seneca Ridge MS
  • Paula Barrett, Rolling Ridge ES
  • Kristin Bredice, Frederick Douglass ES
  • Tammy Brooks, Lovettsville ES
  • Lauren Chamberlin, Lucketts ES
  • Eric Chandler, Mountain View ES
  • Joseph D'Arcangelis, Blue Ridge MS
  • Katherine Hayden, Sterling ES
  • Marcia Hemminger, Kenneth W. Culbert ES
  • Barbara Hendrick, Mountain View ES
  • Paula Hermens, Countryside ES
  • Heather Hess, Tuscarora HS
  • Karen Houtz, Emerick ES
  • Kathryn Mays, Potowmack ES
  • Katherine McIlvain, Leesburg ES
  • Melissa McQuillan, Creighton's Corner ES
  • Lesley McWilliams, Smart's Mill MS
  • Colleen Milligan, Smart's Mill MS
  • Jensy Richards, Newton-Lee ES
  • Philippe Rosenthal, Park View HS
  • Lisa Roth, Dominion Trail ES —Teacher of the Year
  • Erik Sassak, Farmwell Station MS
  • Ann Schmidt, Little River ES
  • Debbie Settle, Stone Bridge HS
  • Eula Spicer, Woodgrove HS
  • Catherine Struhar, Dominion Trail ES
  • Julia Wells, Guilford ES
  • Timothy Yorke, Heritage HS
  • Janet Platenberg, Steuart Weller ES —Pricipal of the Year

Sponsors for the 2013 Loudoun Education Foundation
Outstanding Teacher Recognition Dinner included:

Sponsorships of $3,000
  • Apple Federal Credit Union
  • Belfort Furniture
  • Claude Moore Charitable Foundation
  • Integrus Holdings
  • Loudoun Hounds
  • Middleburg Bank
  • Northwest Federal Credit Union Foundation
  • Orbital Sciences Corporation
Sponsorships of $1,000-$2,999
  • Willowcroft Farm Vineyards
Sponsorships of $500 or less
  • Leesburg Pharmacy, Inc.
  • Bernard & Daphne Mustafa
  • Nova Medical & Urgent Care Center
  • Wade & Natasha Tetsuka