2018-19 Annual Report

Loudoun Education Foundation

The Loudoun Education Foundation (LEF) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation that engages businesses and community partners to fund critical and exceptional programs that foster the academic success and well-being of students and teachers in Loudoun County Public Schools.

In 1991, four members of the Loudoun County School Board (Fred Flemming, James Callahan, William White and Barbara D’Elia) founded the LEF. Since its formation, the LEF has given more than $6,437,000 to support Loudoun’s students and teachers.

The foundation provides funding for teacher and division-wide grants that support innovative programs, and special initiative grants that focus on our students’ well-being and academic success.  Our commitment is to help families in need through our Community School model at Sterling Elementary School, which will be extended to five additional elementary schools next year, and the Backpack Coalition, which provides food for food insecure students over the weekend.

Annually, the LEF sponsors the Loudoun County Public Schools International Youth Leadership Summit, the Regional Science and Engineering Fair, and various professional development opportunities such as the Inspire Loudoun teacher conference. The LEF awards scholarships to current Loudoun County teachers and classified employees for pursuing graduate degrees, advanced training, and teacher licensure. Each year, the Loudoun Education Foundation celebrates academic excellence by hosting the Excellence in Education Banquet in December and the Outstanding Teacher Recognition Dinner in the spring.

The LEF officers for the 2019-2020 school year are:

  • President: Scott Miller
  • Vice President: Rebecca Ottinger
  • Treasurer: Richard Jollon
  • Secretary: Lynn Rubin

During the 2018–2019 school year, the Loudoun Education Foundation gave more than $2,027,639 to Loudoun’s schools. Monies distributed included:

  • Teaching in Loudoun County program: $75,000
  • Claude Moore Scholars program: $25,000
  • Claude Moore teacher scholarships: $25,000
  • Professional development: $5,000
  • Classified employee scholarships: $3,750
  • Teacher grants: $55,821
  • HHMI Makerspace grants: $21,000
  • Multicultural grants: $8,647
  • Excellence in Education sponsorship: $57,860
  • Claude Moore graduation project support: $3,500
  • Student college scholarships: $13,282
  • Student achievement support: $30,441
  • Outstanding teacher recognition: $6,405
  • Outstanding teacher recognition grants: $9,500
  • Loudoun International Youth Leadership Summit: $14,500
  • Science & Engineering Fair sponsorship: $21,650
  • Science Fair Teacher Willowcroft Grant: $5,000
  • CAMPUS program: $12,362
  • EDGE programs: $200,000
  • Suicide Prevention program: $25,000
  • Title I school support: $77,324
  • STEM support: $1,106,500
  • School Meal support program: $9,382
  • Backpack Coalition: $150,760
  • Community School Outreach programs: $44,060
  • Inspire Loudoun conference: $12,775
  • Language Fluency Mentor grants: $3,500
  • Flexible seating research grant: $3,000
  • Private donation support $1,350

Every year, the Foundation hosts the Excellence in Education Banquet to honor high school seniors who are in the top five percent of their class academically. This year’s banquet will be held at 1 p.m. and 6 p.m. on Sunday, December 8th at the National Conference Center. Since 1983, the Excellence in Education Banquet has honored 5,679 of Loudoun’s best students for their academic achievements.

The next major event for the LEF will be its 18th Annual Golf Classic on Monday, September 30th, at The Club at Creighton Farms. Sponsorships for this event range between $500 and $20,000, which contributes to this event being the LEF’s biggest fundraiser of the year. Sponsorship information can be obtained here.

The Loudoun Education Foundation honored 36 of Loudoun’s best teachers, Teacher of the Year, Jennifer Rogers, and Jennifer Short, the 2019 Loudoun County and Washington Post Principal of the Year, during a banquet on Friday, April 26th at the Belmont Country Club. Each of the 36 honored teachers and the Teacher and Principal of the Year were awarded a $250 grant by the LEF to help them advance learning opportunities within the classroom. The teachers selected for this honor were nominees for The Washington Post’s Teacher of the Year Award from Loudoun County.

United Way contributions to the Loudoun Education Foundation may be made by designating the funds for Agency No. 8491.

Donations may also be made to the Foundation via the Combined Federal Campaign using Agency No. 20049.

Information about the Foundation can be obtained from its Executive Director, Dawn Meyer, at 571-252-1102 or lef.meyer@gmail.com.